National Teachers' College Unyama

We Are The Light

NTC Unyama Background

Brief history of the college

National Teachers’ College (NTC) Unyama is one of the 5 Government aided Tertiary Institutions mandated to train high quality teachers for the lower secondary school level in Uganda. It metamorphosed to a Grade V Teacher Training Institution in 1984 from a Grade III Teacher Training Institution.

Following the need to upgrade Grade III Primary School teachers to become Grade V Primary School teachers, the College started an in-service Diploma in Education Primary (DEP) course in 1990. In 2019, the college also launched a Certificate Course in Early Childhood Development.

All the programmes offered in the College are affiliated to Kyambogo University; meaning that the College admits the students and Kyambogo University registers, examines, and awards the Diplomas/Certificates.

The 20 year insurgency in Northern Uganda forced displaced persons to camp within the college campus to the extent that in 1987, the college had to relocate to Masindi and later to Hoima until 1989. Between 1989 and 2009, the college was occupied by Internally Displaced People (IDP). During this period, the general infrastructure of the college was completely devastated.

Since its inception, the college has grown in terms of enrollment and complexity. For instance, enrollment has grown from a mere 200 students in the academic year 1984/1985 to more than 1800 in the academic year 2019/2020 for both the DES and DEP programmes.

The flamboyancy and ambience of NTC Unyama today are a product of the Government of Uganda and Islamic Development Bank intervention to rehabilitate and expand the infrastructure of the college.

NTC Unyama owes unmeasurable gratitude to the Belgian Technical Corporation (Enabel) for equipping and up-skilling the human resource with 21st century skills and pedagogy.

The College front View 


1984-1986 1986-1995



1999-2000 2000-2010


Mr. Arweny Levi

 Mr. Ogara Oyoo Raymond (RIP) Mr. Nyeko Alexis (RIP) Mr. Okot Lawot (RIP) Rev. Onyango William Mr. Ojok David Okeny



2018-2020 2020 to Date

Mr. Ocheng Ogola (RIP) Mr. Barigye B. Bernard Mr. Nyakito Charles Mr. Basadha David Waigulo